Best Technology Colleges in South Africa (2020)

Education in South Africa is now top-notch. They’ve come from humble beginnings to boasting of International Standard schools of all the levels, which are the Primary, Secondary, and Territory.

Aside from these, they also have the best Colleges of Technology.

The list of Universities in this article will serve as a guide to help the prospective student make the right choice.

Best Technology Colleges in South Africa


Cape Peninsula University of Technology

This University was established in 2005 through the merger of Cape and Peninsula Technikons.

It is the largest and only Technology University in Western Cape. Their six campuses have a student body of over 30000.

It has six departments namely

Faculties of:

  • Applied Sciences
  • Business
  • Social Sciences and Education
  • Health and Wellness
  • Design and Informatics.



Central University of Technology

Formerly known as “Technikon Free State” began operations in 1981 with 285 students until 2004 when they rebranded and adopted the present name.

They are currently the an international standard University of Technology operating from their two campuses in Bloemfontein and Welkom.

Their Faculties include that of:

  • Environmental Science and Health
  • Humanities
  • Management Science
  •  Info-Tech and Engineering.



Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

This University is the merger of three Universities, namely Port Elizabeth Technikon,  Port Elizabeth University, and Vista University in 2005 to provide quality education to its students.

With about 27000 students on their six campuses, they offer a wide range of subjects.

They have seven faculties, including :

  • Business and Economic Sciences
  • Arts
  • Law
  • Science
  • Education
  • Health Science
  • Engineering



The Northwest University

Established in 2004 from the merger of two Universities. A Caucasian Institution and an Indigenous Institution.

The merger was the result of a more stable Unified University.

They have three campuses and various facilities in each.


Rhodes University

This University began operation in 1904 after Cecil Rhodes.  It was then known as  Rhodes University College.

Their current 8000 students stay on and off-campus. They have 6 Faculties, which are further subdivided into about 30 departments.


Stellenbosch University

This is a research-oriented university based in Stellenbosch. The students of this University are known as “maties,” which is an Afrikaans word for “mate” or “friend.”

They have 9 Faculties namely;

  • Faculty of Military Science
  • Faculty of Management and Economics Sciences
  • Faculty of Agric Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts and Social Science
  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science



Tshwane University of Technology

This University was the product of a merger of three Technikon Universities, which were Pretoria, North- West, and Northern Gauteng Technikon Universities in 2004.

Its current name was adopted to enable the Institute to fulfill the requirements of an International Standard Institution. With a Student body of almost 60000 spread over their six campuses, TUT is no doubt one of the largest universities in South Africa.

TUT currently has seven Faculties with various Departments under each.

These Faculties are:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Finance and Economics
  • Faculty of  the Arts
  • Faculty of  Management Sciences
  • Faculty of  Humanities
  • Faculty of Information and Communications Technology
  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Science



Vaal University of Technology

This is one of the oldest University of Technology in South Africa.

They began operation as the College of Advanced Technical Education in 1966 and later underwent a name change to become the Vaal Triangle Technikon in 1979.

However, as part of educational reforms in South Africa, they became the Vaal University of Technology in 2004.

The University has four campuses, a 21000 student attendance and four Faculties which are:

  • Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  • Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Faculty of Management
  • Faculty of Applied and Computer Sciences



Walter Sisulu University of Technology

It was named after Walter Sisulu, who was the former deputy president and close friend of Nelson Mandela.

The University was established in June 2005 after the merger of Border Technikon, University of Transkei, and Eastern Cape Technikon.

The University has four Campuses located in multiple areas around Eastern Cape and East London.

Their Faculties include:

  • Faculty of Commerce and  Administration
  • Faculty of Humanities, Social Science and Law
  • Faculty of Educational Sciences
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences
  • Faculty of Health Sciences



In Conclusion

South Africa has come a long way in its Educational Reforms by providing its Indigenes and International prospective students the opportunity to be trained in the best schools and colleges.

The Universities of Technology listed above is no exception. This goes to prove to any prospective student that getting an education in any of these Universities is an excellent opportunity to advance their chosen career in Technology

More Articles for You

13 Best Medical Schools in South Africa (2020)

Finding the right university to study medicine is now easier than before. It used to be a challenge in the …

Best Teaching Colleges in South Africa (2020)

Are you in South Africa, or seeking to study there? There are indeed a lot of options to choose from …

Best Distance Learning Universities in South Africa (2020)

Has the thought of getting a degree from any of the Distance Learning Universities in South Africa ever lingered in …

13 Best TVET Colleges In Gauteng (2020)

TVET stands for Technical and Vocational Education and Training. TVET is all about teaching, training, and education that offers you …

Top Business Schools in South Africa (2020)

South Africa has garnered a reputation for having the best educational facilities and institutions. It’s no surprise that they have …